Petunia..

The last few days we have been watching Petunia closely.  Her back leg (the one that sustained a horrible injury when she was little due to a dog attack) has been giving her grief.  She hasn’t been putting her full weight on it, and when I manipulate it with my hands, she pulls away.  This morning when I went out to feed/water the pigs, she was down.  And doesn’t seem to be interested in getting up. I hand fed her, and watered her.  What was shocking to me, is that she was crying.  Tears were literally coming out of her eyes and wetting her cheeks.  Her lone survivor Silver Pig was staying close, nuzzling Petunia and making very soft sweet sounds to her.  We are going to have to put her down.  Better now, then let to go.  Our freezer is empty, and while we will be sad to see her go, seeing her in pain is worse.  On mothers day, I will have had Petunia for 2 years.  She was my first pig, and will always have a BIG place in my heart.  Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Petunia..

  1. Dan Ackermann says:

    I am so sorry to hear that. It’s always so sad.

Leave a comment